Skip to content

Learning “la cucina povera” or “poor people’s food”, in Lecce, Italy

April 20, 2014

Learning “la cucina povera” or “poor people’s food”, in Lecce, Italy

The cultural bounties of Italy are just endless. I am convinced you could study a lifetime and never learn even a portion of one area of the rich Italian culture.

There is a cluster of cooking schools in Lecce, in the Puglia region of southern Italy, a part of Italy usually ignored by tourists. They specialize in teaching “la cucina povera”, or how poor Italian peasants cooked their food. Even that subsection of Italian cuisine has a rich and storied history. Some of these schools are located in pretty nice palazzos.

I will add it to my growing list of dream vacations in Italy. I am sure I have way more places to visit and things to do in Italy than I could fit into the time and money available in my lifetime to do them.

From → Travel

One Comment
  1. Georgann Greene permalink

    I hope this is not Italy’s answer to soul food in the US.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

