Skip to content

Bakersfield and San Francisco are in the same state and on different planets

March 2, 2014

The first time I saw a guy openly smoking marijuana, it was on a packed city bus. The gangbanger guy smoking an electronic cigarette and blowing smoke in the face of the other people trapped right next to him looked me right in the eyes with an unmistakable message of “I dare you to say one word, cracker.” I was stunned.

Now that I have been here another couple of days, the sight of people openly smoking joints in public has ceased to shock me. It’s practically on every block. The guy behind the counter at the music store took a huge bong rip before asking if he could help me.

In Bakersfield, which is justly famous for it’s huge crime and drug problems, I have never seen that. Not ever. And in San Francisco, it is everywhere.

From → Travel

2 Comments
  1. Georgann Greene permalink

    It is truly a different culture. I prefer Bako. Thanks.

    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

