Skip to content

The Adelaide Hostel in San Francisco

March 1, 2014

So, I am doing something new. I am staying at a hostel, in a dorm with twelve bunks. The hostel is the Adelaide Hostel here in San Francisco. It is run by nice enough Australian folks. It is decorated in a hippie style that reminds me of my days in Santa Cruz.

Pros: Clean, people are well behaved. Nice vegan complimentary breakfast. Very very cheap for San Francisco: $29.95. Yeah, baby! Peace and love, peace and love!

Con: Only one but it is huge. I am such a nervous Nelly that I could hardly sleep last night. Every time somebody shifted position, my subconscious said, “Someone is coming to kill you!” This happened endless times last night. Yeah, I know, on a rational basis it is silly. But my personality is a very fearful one, and being surrounded by strangers is just nerve racking. Just the merest twitch by anyone would cause me to jolt wide awake. And of course, it is doubly silly because I am surrounded by a group of Asian travelers that is more afraid of me than I am of them. But tell that to my subconscious…

I am sure if I stayed here a month I would get totally used to it and relax. But I only have one more night to adjust….

From → Travel

2 Comments
  1. Georgann Greene permalink

    I like having a private bedroom and bathroom whenever I travel. I have tried various methods of rooming with friends and strangers. I have learned over the years that I prefer my own company. Of course staying with family members is fine. Travel is an adventure, but your sleeping accommodations should’t be. I have a feeling you agree with me after this experience.

    Mom

Leave a Reply

