Skip to content

Just another normal interaction between a father and his two year old daughter

October 10, 2013

One of my little projects is to train my children to give me a hug and kiss when I get home. I want to feel loved and appreciated and let them know I love and appreciate them.

So when I get home last night, I ask Laila to come give Daddy a hug and a kiss. She screams, “No!” I say, “Aw, come on …” And take one step closer and she runs away screaming.

So I totally respect her two year old little decisions and I….no, hell no, I run after her. We run through the house with her screaming at the top of her lungs and me a step behind.

She runs to the door to Sammy (a nanny’s) room yelling for help. Sorry, kiddo, Sammy works for me. I corner her and try for a hug and kiss, but she is pushing me away, so I just kiss her on the head and drop the issue.

What is funny is, she just adores Sammy. She jumps at him for hugs and kisses on sight. Laila, come on, where did I go wrong?

From → My children

2 Comments
  1. But you got to reap the reward last night before she went to bed Laila came and gave you a hug and a kiss good night. That should have topped your night off.
    See you tomorrow making some BBQ RIBS AND SCALLOP potatoes for you all. Love ya more mom

  2. Georgann permalink

    Remember, the babies see more of Sammy than you. As you have quiet and positive interactions with them, they will want to spend more time with you. It takes time and patience to get the behavior you want. I suggest paying attention to the other two. Laila will come around on her own time.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

