Skip to content

The week in review

October 6, 2013

Close readers of my blog will notice that I took about a month off from blogging in September. I was going through a difficult period, and I was not doing anything fun or noteworthy, including my hobbies. I was just trying to survive. I have come to the realization that it is not really about having the time to do things: it is about having the interest and energy to do things. There is always time: there may not be the interest or the energy.

Well, maybe the break was a good one for me. I had a great week for my personal development. I felt energized. I was able to make progress in every area. I practiced another hour and a half on the cello and two hours on the recorder today for a total of 5.5 hours on the cello and 4.5 on the recorder for the week. Ten hours playing music in a week is a lot, especially considering I lost a whole evening Monday night when I took Michelle and Cat to LAX and came back that same night. I am enjoying both instruments, but I wish I could play the clarinet instead of the recorder. It just has a larger range and a better tone. I have always wanted to play jazz, and the clarinet would be a perfect woodwind instrument. Sigh. Someday.

I have also made progress on some of my other goals. I almost finished the entire first level (out of five) in Rosetta Stone Mandarin Chinese. I am just reviewing it, so it is easier than having to learn new stuff, but still, that is a lot. I find the Chinese language to be endlessly interesting and not even a little frustrating compared to other languages. I am shocked by how much I can remember from two years ago.

I even met my goal of doing two CrossFit 661 group workouts this week, despite hating every second of them. CrossFit is just agony, but it is great for staying in physical shape. So I think it is important. I intend to step my game up to three workouts this week and see if I can maintain that pace.

This is all on top of being (at least temporarily) a single father of seven children and having my own business to run. So, overall, a great effort.

2 Comments
  1. not quiet a single father when you have 1 nanny 24/7 there, another working 40 hours and 2 grandparents there to help with all the cleaning and cooking. lol But yes your doing a great job. I’m very proud of your progress with playing an active role as a parent. If it took me leaving for 3 weeks to do it, it was well worth it. Well that and Paris is absolutely gorgeous and the people are soooo nice, minus a couple, but that could be anywhere. Well it’s AM here, so off for another day of adventures.. we are TOTALLY just gonna be random today, and explore ALL of Paris. Nothin in specific. Love you hun… Hope you have a great day

  2. Georgann permalink

    Happy you had a good week. It is great to hear Michelle is enjoying Paris. I found the people to be very friendly and helpful also. My experience was the opposite of the stereotype of the French being rude to English speakers. On the contrary,they went out of their way to be courteous and kind to tourists.
    GG

Leave a Reply

