Skip to content

My newest musical project

December 28, 2012

I ordered some “ear training” software to help my ability to recognize notes and tones by ear. I am really being held back by my inability to remember any music I play or notice what notes or chords are in a given composition if it is played for me. It’s driving me crazy. I can read music just fine now. I can play a piece from sheet music. But ask me to name one note in the composition the moment I finish playing it and turn it over, and I draw a blank. Even when I can hum the melody, I can’t recall what notes pertain to it.

Well, hopefully this will do the trick. It’s called Ear Training Pro 6. The company has been making Ear Training versions since 1994, so you figure it can’t just be junk. I am willing to put in the effort to improve my musical awareness.

From → My music

One Comment
  1. Georgann Greene permalink

    This is really a terrific idea, and one that is often overlooked by beginning learners. Good for you being aware of the importance of ear training. It will help your musical memory.

Leave a Reply

