Skip to content

Accordion torture

December 25, 2012

So, in order to make myself faster and more fluent playing the left hand bass notes on the accordion, I taped my mom playing Christmas carols at “regular speed” and I am trying to keep up by playing just the bass notes to accompany the recording. I just put them on a loop, get out my sheet music, and try to keep up. Oh man, is it difficult! I am hoping as the hours mount up, it get easier. Right now I feel like my left hand fingers are just flying and I still can’t keep up.

I am also going to use the same strategy with my double bass. I am going to play the violin melody and see is if can keep up with the bass. It should be very difficult as well. It just goes to show you how hard it is to really play music.

3 Comments
  1. It takes time honey. Doing it over and over and over again… With time it will become easier for u to begin to play faster. Heck u only been playing less than a month. And u already sound fabulous. Proud if you honey. I love ur new passions. They are a great stress reducer, healthy, good example for the kids, and u enjoy them.

  2. Just keep on going. The trick is to like the music you can make at this moment, and the greatness is that you will find you will improve and improve. Maybe my new blog will inspire you: http://www.accordionistic.com

Leave a Reply

