Skip to content

The weekly practice report

December 23, 2012

I did an hour today on the bass and a half hour on the accordion, for a total for the week of eleven hours. I did push myself out of my comfort level this week twice: I played chords on the accordion with my mom while she played the melody on her violin on some Christmas carols and I did a practice with a teacher on the bass.

The carols were tough! Even just playing chords I felt like I had to play at Metallica-guitar-solo-on-meth speed just to keep up. Note to self: I am not ready for ensemble playing yet. While I take that split second to find that chord with my fingers, the melody is flying on and I’m lost. I need much more practice.

At the bass lesson, we did classical “Simandl” exercises together in “half-position”, a somewhat advanced technique I am not totally comfortable with. Yikes again! Those are hard.

So, I have a lot of practicing to do.

2 Comments
  1. Repeat repeat repeat… With ur dedication u will be there before u know it. Ur a faster learner hun, and great dedication to ur passions.

  2. Georgann Greene permalink

    Michelle is such a wonderful cheerleader. You are a lucky guy.

Leave a Reply

