Skip to content

A thought regarding Erica, my oldest daughter

November 14, 2012

How many dreams come true? How many times do people actually make it to play in the NBA, catch the huge marlin, sing the lead in the opera? Damn few. Life is full of compromises. We settle for less every day.

Erica is the fulfillment of a dream I once had. I hoped and prayed she would be every wonderful thing. Beautiful, nice, successful, smart, loving, caring, compassionate, talented: I could go on for days. I was deeply worried that the circumstances surrounding her were largely out of my hands, and were not conducive to those qualities. I am so happy that my fears were unjustified. Erica is everything wonderful a young woman should be. I am sure you are waiting for the “except…”, but really, I know of no character flaws. I wish I could say the same for me. (Sniff…)

I would like to congratulate her publicly on her 18th birthday. I was able to celebrate it yesterday with her and her brother. I would also like to wish her success in college, and in life. I am sure she will achieve it. I would just ask her to please remember her father, who loves her and misses her every day.

From → My children

4 Comments
  1. Erica Greene permalink

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww thank you dad. You make me sound so wonderful. I love you.

  2. Donald Greene permalink

    Erica, you are wonderful!

  3. Ahh so sweet ; )) Happy Birthday Blessings to you !!! How did it slip past me? Love you more Nana (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

