Skip to content

The music update

November 7, 2012

Well, you know you have been practicing the banjo a lot when the screw holding the strap to the banjo comes loose while you are playing it. That’s what happened to me tonight. Now the interior screw is stuck deep in the resonator pan. If I disassembled the resonator on it, I could just fix it myself, but I don’t want to screw around and mess something else up. I will just take it into the technician at Guitar Center and hopefully it won’t take forever to get fixed.

The violin is on hold until my lesson on Sunday. It looks pretty intimidating, so I will let a professional show me how to do it the right way instead of trying on my own and developing bad habits already. Thankfully, I have lots of toys, I mean instruments, to play with. I started messing around with the recorder my son uses in elementary school and found it intriguing. So I bought one for myself. It has a nice archaic sound. Even though people see it as a cheap plastic toy for little kids to fool around with in school, it has a long pedigree as a serious musical instrument in the Renaissance. Maybe I will just have some fun with it until my banjo gets fixed. If I get tired with that, I can always hit the harmonica.

I find it interesting that just as I always fight for the underdog in my job, I like the Rodney Dangerfield of musical instruments, the ones that get no respect: harmonica, banjo, recorder. When I tell people I am learning the banjo, they fall over laughing. I think it reveals something about my personality that I love the instruments other people find funny or contemptible.

From → My music

2 Comments
  1. Donald Greene permalink

    I agree with you regarding those three instruments.

  2. Go ahead beat to your own drum !!! What do they know LOL. Anxious to hear all your accomplishments 😃 love u more mom & dad

Leave a Reply

