Skip to content

I have a concrete goal

November 6, 2012

My mother, who is a master at playing the violin, will be visiting this Christmas season. She will be bring her violin with her. She and I have been talking about playing some Christmas music together.  I have chosen a song, “O Come, All Ye Faithful”, one of my favorites. I want to memorize the rythm banjo accompaniment to the melody, so my mom and I can play it together, film it, and then put it up on Youtube with a link to my blog for all my faithful blog followers to enjoy.

This is a pretty big challenge. I am going to have to work my butt off to do this. I have to remember all the chord changes, in order, remember their fingerings and then execute them properly. For a newbie at the banjo, this is going to be quite a stretch. I don’t know if I can get it done in the time frame I have between now and Christmas. But I am going to give it a shot.

From → My music

5 Comments
  1. Georgann Greene permalink

    I’ll start working on memorizing “Oh, Come” tomorrow. Making music together will make Christmas such fun for the Greene family. I am excited for the possibilities this goal inspires.

  2. Georgann Greene permalink

    What key are you playing this in?

  3. Georgann Greene permalink

    Hi again,
    I played “O Come” from memory this evening. I am ready for our musical get-together at Christmas time. I am hoping we can play one or two more. If you have another one, let me know before Nov. 18. That is the day we are leaving for our trip to California.
    Love, Mom

    • Yeah, I knew this would happen. Total time for Ben to memorize a piece: six weeks. Total time for mom to memorize the piece: five minutes.
      The next piece is “O Christmas Tree”. In the key of C.

Leave a Reply

