Skip to content

I live in Bakersfield, I have nine kids, and I play the banjo

October 13, 2012

The title to this blog post is not only true, but it also would win the award for the worst EHarmony ad ever. Thank God I’m married. I better stay that way.

Well, my banjo arrived. I am working hard on learning how to play it. My goal is to have a family band some day, and play blues, bluegrass and jazz.  I already have two songs I would like to learn to play on the banjo: “Hurt” by Johnny Cash, which would some awsome on the banjo and “Amongst the Stones”, a bluegrass tune.

I am totally obsessed with my music. I take my harmonica everywhere with me and try to get in some practice during any down times. I am trying to be very disciplined in practicing my bass and my banjo at home. I want to be “reasonably competent” in a year. I am doing an hour a day on each instrument. My video game is now boring to me, so that has freed up a bunch of time. I have almost totally stopped watching music and television. My time is totally taken up with the babies and music when I am not at work.

We have found a few instructors who teach the bass, so I am interested in getting some instruction on it soon. In the meantime, I have a lot on my plate.

From → My music

2 Comments
  1. Georgann Greene permalink

    You’re looking mighty cute with your new banjo. The babies are active, healthy and adorable as always. Thanks for sharing. Blessings, Mom

  2. Donald Greene permalink

    You are a “full-plate” kind of person in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

