Skip to content

Let’s define our goals, shall we?

October 9, 2012

One of the things I have learned from both business and working out is to try to define our goals in the beginning. This is helpful for two reasons: One, it lets us know what sacrifices are required to get to our goals, and two, lets us know when we have arrived. That way, progress can be measured in terms of degree of realization of those goals. If your goal is just some amorphous sense of “I want to be successful” then who know what is required to reach that, and when will you realize you have arrived? Successful compared to whom?

My goal in music is as follows: I want to be able to accompany a band by playing rythm on the bass by next October. By next October, I want to be able to play two solo songs on my harmonica from memory: “Imagine” by John Lennon and “Redemption Song” by Bob Marley. (Those sound great on the harmonica, by the way.) And I want to be able to play three tunes of average difficulty without accompaniment on the banjo, from memory. With these goals met, I could actually perform in public with confidence. I will have worked on my instruments hard for a year. At that point I will be ready to join a church band and perform on Sundays.

Here’s what are not my goals. I don’t want to make a dime playing music. I don’t want to attend any schools or colleges to work on my instrument. And I don’t want to be able to spontaneously make up music like in free form jazz. If I can just memorize and perform sheet music, that would be good enough, believe me. I am aiming for “reasonable competency”, where people can listen to me perform a piece and not feel sorry for me. I am not aiming for mastery of my instruments.

From → My music

4 Comments
  1. Donald Greene permalink

    Your goals seem reasonable on paper. Only time will tell.

  2. Very modest goals honey. You can do it! You have come so far in your life, made huge changes in the way you handle all aspects of your life, from fitness goals, to time management, efforts put in to help with the children and with me, your business sandwich your music efforts. There was a time when u thrived off of “being successful” and let’s face it “ego stroking” but that’s a Ben of the past. I see a more mature logical and treasonable Ben nowadays. With moderate expectations and goals in life. Nothing that the adverage person wouldn’t set as a goal. Ie a thriving business and stable home. Goals of saving for our children’s future and a home. If only others could see the new you, and not the you of the past, they would be proud to. I’m proud of you honey. With moderate goals, learning 2 songs from memory in a year. You set yourself up for “success” and I know you will not fail. And with moderate goals like these u will be less frustrated and more at peace. Love you honey.

  3. Georgann Greene permalink

    Well thought out. This all sounds great. Enjoy!
    Love, Mom

  4. Lynn Metzler permalink

    Yea you can do it 🎶🎶🎻🎵🎵love ya mom

Leave a Reply

