Skip to content

The state of the legal profession

June 15, 2012

Yesterday there was a big long article online at the MSNBC site about how overvalued a law degree is. Amongst new attorneys, only 65% find work requiring a law degree: 10% can’t find anything at all. That means 25% are selling cars, substitute teaching or getting you your coffee at Starbucks.
Basically, the article said that the public image of the “rich lawyer” is largely a myth. Even many practicing lawyers struggle mightily to get by.
That is consistent with my personal observations. The legal industry is like a big pyramid: tons of folks at the bottom, including the vast majority of self-employed lawyers. I have been delivering lots of documents to other offices lately. I have been impressed with the number of tiny, run down little places I have been to. No secretary, one room, answering machine to take calls: it’s pretty sad. I have seen guys who I think sleep in their offices. If I see food and clothing, I start to wonder.
There was an article in the California Lawyer magazine about a guy who had been doing appointed appellate work his entire career. His office is in his garage. He made $27,000 last year.
Then there is a substantial middle class: mostly government employees with secure jobs, but nothing fabulous. Public defenders, DA’s, county counsel, etc.
Lastly, a small handful of attorneys are very successful. I believe being a trial lawyer is similar to being a performer, like a musician or an actor. So for every Leonardo DeCaprio or Angelina Jolie there are lots of people doing summer stock or acting on soap operas.
But the really bad news is many people leave law school with huge student loan debt. I knew a woman with a $100,000 in student loan debt from law school. If you aren’t making a whole lot, that’s a huge amount.
So the moral to the story: For the vast majority of students, law school is not necessarily a good investment.

5 Comments
  1. Michelle greene permalink

    Baby you truly are one in a million. Not only is there the $$ aspect but you have to have the personality (aggressive), ability to be a quick thinker and very knowledgeable, and biggest the drive. You have a very persistent drive that has gotten you where u are. Your very intelligent, passionate about your work, and very driven. Many are okay with just making ends meet and to have the “label” of being an attorney with a law license. For them that may be enough. You dream big and achieve big. Love you baby!!

  2. Erica Greene permalink

    *note to self. I’ll keep that in mind.

  3. Georgann Greene permalink

    The demand for lawyers has lessened because the market is flooded. This explains the strong competition among attorneys. The word needs to get out to the public, so that they will look to areas where there is a greater need for a work force. You are blessed because you are skilled at what you do, and you find your work interesting and engaging. That is a great combination. I am so thankful your job is fulfilling.
    Blessings, Mom

    • Boy, me too. I can honestly say I feel fulfilled creatively and I feel like I am living up to my full potential. How many middle-aged guys can honestly say that they are living their dream? Damn few. By the way, I have three trials pending, so Monday I am going into battle again.

Leave a comment